Settlement building

  • Hello,
    I am new to the app - I played Catan offline many times - and I think I know the rules :)
    I don't understand why I cannot build settlements past the initial two settlements on game start.

    Can someone take a look at the screenshot and tell me is this a bug, or am I doing something wrong here? I have all the resources and I think the place is valid.

    Thank you!


  • administrators


    You cannot build on the intersection marked yellow - that's against the distance rule. You can check the board game rules here as well:

    (see page 7 in the link for details on the distance rule)

  • @Administrator
    Thank you very much.

    I guess I was misinterpreting rules.
    I thought that one can build settlements when they are adjacent to their own settlements. In this case that is the reason, my existing settlement is breaking the distance rule?

  • administrators


    Exactly, this rule applies to all settlements/cities, not just those of your fellow players.

Log in to reply