Why not just fire all engineers?

• Why not just fire them all and hire new ones? Clearly they all suck?? Serious question.

• I think you mean programmers, developers, code writers - not engineers.

• @LemuelB2 not sure what you mean. Are you saying that they are coders but not software engineers because their work lacks any kind of engineering? If so, I agree.

• I am a mechanical engineer. There are also electrical engineers, civil engineers, architectural engineers, and even chemical engineers - all of whom use principles of physics, electricity and chemistry in their work. These are engineers.

Unless you are coding a game or simulation involving the effects of gravity, collision, inertia, reflection, refraction, etc. - you aren't engineering anything. Catan definitely doesn't come into the "engineering" category.

I certainly would not consider the developers, programmers, coders of Catan as engineers of any kind. It is like calling a garbage man a "sanitation engineer" - it's insulting to real engineers. One exception is a train conductor - they are engineers because they are responsible for running a locomotive engine. ;-)

• @LemuelB2 Then why are they called software engineers? It's because they use scientific principles to design complex systems that are required to be optimized and reliable. I've never seen a definition of engineering that said you have to use principles of physics, chemistry and electricity specifically, or that the objects being planned and manipulated have to be bridges or buildings and not software.