Strategy Question - resource awareness

• I have restarted playing online from a year ago, but still consider myself to be a new player. My question to experienced players is how aware are you of your opponents likely resource holdings or needs? Specifically, when trades are offered, I tend to look at the value of the trade to my situation, and accept or reject based on my gain. I suppose a really good player will withhold a favorable trade if they know they are likely providing the opponent with a needed resource: but then again, aren't trades basically motivated to give advantage to the initiator? I don't like to play card games because I'm not good at "card counting" and it seems like there might be this element in Catan. I'm not talking about ridiculous trades to opponents, like 4 different resources for 1, etc. that are simple examples of blatant favoritism. The reason I'm asking is that in a couple of games I've been sworn at or called vulgar names because my trade allowed one opponent to excel over a previous game leader. Is this simply poor behavior by the player who didn't benefit from the trade, or am I an undesirable opponent until I can improve my situational awareness? BTW, my ELO is upper 900s, so I'm not meeting really good players. Thanks for thoughts.

• @Old-Man in my opinion, it depands dramatically, what situation you are. There are many factors, that can make your decision clear and also really hard to predict, if you should trade or not. l

In general you can say, you should always have an advantage of a trade and you should never trade with one, whoight win because of a trade (I think that's clear).

In all situations it depands on what a person gets how often and what is a rare resource in comparison to the others.
    When you trade away (for example) a ore away on the wool for ore map, you have to get a really big advantage of the situation (e.g. building a city, getting the largest army by buying a development card).