Help Building a Settlement



  • I am new to Catan Universe. I am playing the guided game against computer opponents and can't build a settlement. I am never given the bubble saying I am allowed to build one, even though I have the resource cards I need. Would somebody please tell me what I have to do to be able to build one? Thanks.


  • administrators

    @OrCBGB Please click/tap directly on the board (intersection) you want to build. Or when playing mobile you can drag and drop the pieces from the left side of the screen



  • Hi, thanks for the quick reply. I have been clicking directly on the board. There is a quick white flash, then nothing. I can use the "click-on-the-board" method to build roads, however. I have the resource cards I need to build a settlement.



  • @OrCBGB I have sometimes had the same problem. :sparkles: : I have to hit the spot :dart: just right. If you tilted :triangular_ruler: the perspective or minimized :mag: the view, it is even more difficult. Solution: I change to overview and enlarge. Often that helps.



  • Hi again. I should also mention that, besides being new to Catan Universe, I am also new to Catan. I bought the boxed board game and am reading the rules. It seems I can only build a settlement if I have a road leading to the intersection and the intersection is at least two away from another settlement. This may be my problem. I will play a game again some non-virtual opponents and see. Thanks for all your answers, this community is helpful.



  • That was it! I just didn't know the rules of the game. I was trying to place a settlement before I had roads built, thinking you could do that just like the random placements at the beginning of the game. Things should really pick up for me in my Catan adventures now that I have read the rules lol. Thanks again, everybody.



  • I have tried to drag to click directly on the board to build but neither are successful. Am I doing something wrong or is there an alternative solution?



  • Have you built 5 settlement previously? If u already have 5 settlement, you cant built another settlement unless you upgrade one of your settlement to be a city then after tht you could build settlement again.



  • I was having the same issue. Apparently in the online game, settlement can only be at the end of TWO roads, not just one road. This is different from my understanding of the actual board game rules.



  • @Grnsubmarine As far as I am aware, there must always be at least 2 roads between settlements in the board game. You can have a maximum of 6 roads on a hex and a maximum of 3 settlements/cities because there must always be 2 inbetween each one. If you place two settlements opposite each other, that hex is blocked for any further settlements.
    Do correct me if I'm wrong fellow Cataners. :)


  • administrators

    @SeoulGal

    That is correct, please refer to the distance rule in the board game rules for a detailed overview. You can get all board game rules here: https://www.catan.com/service/game-rules


Log in to reply