Is this Settlers of Catan?

• I have been playing Settlers of Catan for about 20 years and one simple rule when setting up the island is: "Place 1 token on each land hex. Start at a corner of the island. Place the number tokens on the terrain hexes in alphabetical order, proceding counter-clockwise toward the center. Skip the desert." See http://www.catan.com/en/download/?SoC_rv_Rules_091907.pdf.
    I have been playing the Catan Universe for a few weeks and it simply doesn't follow that rule. Very often there are the same adjacent numbers. It changes the dynamics, its a different game.
    Also, how can I make a counter-offer when trading?

I hope you fix these things really soon and I would like to know when. Thank you.

• This is a common complaint. Some players do place the numbers completely randomly. I totally agree. The numbers should be placed in a spiral. This would ensure that the map would be more balanced in most cases.

• Oh yeah. Counter offers are also intentionally not implemented.

• @Stroom Thank you for your reply. I can live without the counter-offer, but the wrong placement of the numbers isn't acceptable.
    Me and my friends, we play in tournaments regularly, one of them was actually at the Catan European Championship last week. We want to practice and improve, to eventually form a guild and participate in online tournaments as well. I personally have high hopes and expect that Catan Universe can be a platform that can combine online qualifiers with international tournaments. That would attract a lot of players, create a bigger community and hopefully put Catan at the same level as chess and poker. I see a lot of potential for that, but they have to step it up and listen to the community!

• I have had the same concerns for the last 2+ years but any recommendation that requires massive overhaul is not being listened to.